Castle Point Borough Council covers the towns of Canvey Island, Hadleigh, South Benfleet & Thundersley. It is split into 14 wards which, with the exception of Canvey Island West, elect 3 Councillors to represent residents. Most years, one councillor will be elected to represent each ward on a 4 year term.

Should any one party obtain 21 or more councillors out of 41, they will have a majority and be said to have control of the council. If no party achieves a majority, the council is said to have No Overall Control and a power sharing agreement can be arranged between parties.

Castle Point Borough Council using the ‘Leader & Cabinet’ system whereby a cabinet of 8 is formed under the guidance of a leader. To find out more about this system, click here.

Castle Point Councillors can help with local issues, like:

  • planning
  • housing
  • rubbish collection
  • leisure centres

Current Ward Boundaries

Hadleigh, South Benfleet & Thundersley Wards
Hadleigh, South Benfleet & Thundersley Wards
Canvey Island Wards
Canvey Island Wards

To find out who your councillors are click here.

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search